wind chimes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wind chimes

Any body out there ever make some decent wind chimes. I would like to know what metal and what size tubing and wall thickness would make the best sound. If anybody out there has done this I would appreciate the help so that I dont have to waste money buying tubing that isnt gonna sound good.
    THX

The harder it is the better it rings. That's why bells are often bronze.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Once had a really nice set of chimes that were tuned to sound oriental. I have no real knowledge of music and tonal relationships for pleasing sounds, but when you make you chimes, cutting the tubes to the right length for proper sound will use a lot of material unless you know what notes (read frequencies) you'll want ahead of time. Trial and error is wasteful and a well tuned set of chimes, as opposed to random lengths of pipe, can sound so much more pleasing to the ear. My old, long lost wind chimes were tuned to a more oriental tonic scale and the made a most pleasing sound.

Comment

Lotsa stuff here. http://www.google.com/search?as_q=ma...&as_occt=any&a s_dt=i&as_sitesearch=&safe=images

Comment

Most wond chimes I've seen are made from EMT electrcial conduitot DIY aluminum tube. Neither have pleasant ringing qualities.

If you can stand the cost, get some silicon bronze tubing. It's a dard tough copper alloy having a marvelous ring full of the the high harmonics that are so pleasing to the ear.

Of course the best stuff is 2% silver bell bronze tubing but who can afford that.

Comment

I made many, from copper, bronze, aluminum and sometimes glass as a clapper.

If you can find a place that refurbs pipe organs you can get the making of some really great wind chimes.

Here is a neat trick, using a 2 inch or larger tube, put a solid clapper inside and then put more clappers on the outside. Two tones

Jerry

Comment