Radial five

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radial five

Hi all, this is my first post here. I was wondering if any of you are building the Radial five from the plans in the HSM? I have been machining for about 5 years and this will be my first attempt at an engine, but it looks like Mr. Kouhoupt has done a great job explaining how to machine it. If there is any of you out there giving this thing a shot, how far along are you and have you ran into any trouble spots?
    Thanks, Dean D.
    Dean’s 7x10 mini-lathe page
    http://members.aol.com/_ht_a/vwone/m...e/profile.html
    Dean\'s7x10 mini lathe page
    http://members.aol.com/vwone/myhomepage/profile.html

Ops, I thought this was going to be about airconditioning compressors. Sorry. Welcome aboard anyway! Nice site too.

Comment

Dean,

Sure would be nice if your images (like your review of the Starrett 19A1Z) were larger on your site, or if you linked them to a larger image.

Makes it nice for us novices,
      -SD:

Comment

Hi Dean, I too am building the Radial Five, but you've got four years of experience on me, so I probably won't be much help. This is my first post as well!

I've tried to not deviate from the plans too much. I did use bronze for the main bearing, where it calls for brass, mainly because I didn't have any suitably sized brass stock at the time.

That bearing was one of my trouble spots. Probably would have been easier in brass. My other trouble spot is the clearance of my Taig mill for milling the crank case. I almost didn't take on the project for that reason, then decided it was just a challenge. There is not enough room to get in a chuck or large boring head to cut the .625 holes in the crank case for the cylinders, so I ended up making my own 4-flute tool to open it up from .500 myself. Took a couple tries, but it eventually cut pretty well.