Another gloat......

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another gloat......

Went to a hangar sale today..... lots of tooling, some aircraft bits and pieces, including a couple partial fuselages etc.

They had a Surface grinder, a horizontal mill that was set up apparently to bend tubing, and some other such, plus cutters by the pound, measuring tools, etc.

Like Flylo's hangar, but tooling oriented, perhaps. They wanted it gone.

So there I am poking around, and what do I see on the floor? A Benchmaster vertical head setup, apparently complete except for the motor plate and a belt.

Now, I have a Horizontal Benchmaster, for which I am planning a vertical head. This obviously will save some serious time getting the machine functional, so I bought it.

No idea why it wasn't with the H-mill, which was a Benchmaster, the v-head has a perfectly good label on it, but it wasn't, it was back 40 feet away, laying on the floor with a price tag, so I said no more, and paid the asking price.

Now, what WAS that asking price?

Ah, that's the whole point.......

Their asking price for this was the enormous sum of FIVE BUCKS. Even included a fly cutter, collet, and drawbar.....

You've never seen anyone nab 30 lb or so of cast iron that fast before........

Yeah it will need a little cleanup...... OK..... Now I have an incentive to move faster on getting the mill fixed up and back together.

Last edited by J Tiers; 08-15-2015, 08:44 PM.

Keep eye on ball.
    Hashim Khan

JT,
    Looks like it has not done a lot of work , good purchase.

Now get to it and post some pics of the project, should be good !

Michael

Comment

Hahahaaa! The best part of your score is that it ACTUALLY works within your needs. I know you have the horizontal and now you have the entire package. Happy for ya JR
      My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

Comment