GRIZZLY 10x22 G0602

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GRIZZLY 10x22 G0602

After posting a couple threads on 7xXX, 9x19, and 8x16 Grizzly machines I started to consider the 10x22 Grizzly. Any thoughts, experience, and opinions on the quality of this machine? Its more than i wanted to spend on a hobby lathe but its only $250 more than than the 9x19 i was first considering. Is it worth it?

I have no experience with this lathe, but I checked out the manual.

First, the threading gears are changed under the left hand cover. The manual says you need 65 inches of space to operate the lathe.

Second, the lathe lacks a power feed. You can set the change gears for a very fine thread to emulate a power feed.

Third, the lathe uses a thicker belt, should be better able to transmit power under high torque.

Fourth, the gear box gives you 6 threads at a time. Two coarse, two medium and two fine. You swap the change gears to get the next set of 6.

The basics of the lathe design are the same as the 9x20.

The 10x22 has a 1 HP motor, so should be capable of deeper cuts if you have the right tooling and are close to the chuck.

Dan
    At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and left over parts.

Comment

To me, the larger spindle bore and longer travels as well as the bigger everything else would make it very worthwhile. The next step up is a 12" whatever which is 2X the money. The 11 x 26 is the same machine, slightly bigger. The 12" and larger machines are in a different class. They have the quick change features without changing gear sets all the time.
      Last edited by Toolguy; 11-13-2015, 07:54 PM.
      Kansas City area

Comment

150 rpm is a screamin-fast lowest speed, but that's true of almost any of those units. NONE have back gears. You can do some belt magic to fix that, too.

1" bore is nice, you might like it. looks a lot more beefy than the "standard 9 x 20" machines.

Keep eye on ball.
        Hashim Khan