Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reducing T-slot Bolt Shank (without a lathe)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reducing T-slot Bolt Shank (without a lathe)

Hello all!

I purchased some new 5/8" t-slot bolts to hold down my Kurt vise from Fastenal. I ordered the 5/8" bolt as I have 5/8" slots in my mill table. The problem I have with the bolts is evident below - the shank is 11/16 and the threaded area is 5/8"...

If I owned a lathe I would reduce the shank diameter a bit, however I do not own one. So, I am left to reduce the shank size another way. I could file them I guess, but that seems to be a time consuming venture. What would you do?

Thank you!

Andy

If the thread diameter fits the slot (apparently does), I would mount the bolt in the mill collet (perhaps a soft collet) and a cutting tool and holder or clamp in a vise on the table (vis-a-vis a vertical lathe per se) - but I have little experience
    Last edited by Mr-Mike; 01-13-2016, 07:30 PM.

Comment

Easy, use the mill itself.

Hold the threaded portion of the bolt in a 5/8" collet (assuming you have such a thing) and mount a lathe tool to the mill table, using whatever blocks, clamps and baling wire you have on hand.

Then it's just a vertical lathe. Move the table in and out for depth of cut, and crank the quill down to feed.

You'll have to take light cuts, as the collet probably won't hold well on a the threads, but a few passes of .005"-.006" at a time shouldn't take too long.

Doc.
      Doc's Machine. (Probably not what you expect.)

Comment

You're not concerned with accuracy nor concentricity here. Haven't you got an angle grinder?
        Brian Rupnow

Comment

If your T-slots measure 5/8", the bolt should be 1/2"-13: