Cutting stainless

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting stainless

Have a job coming in, have no idea how to do it. About 400 pieces of stainless threaded rod, m16-2, about 1/2" thick. Needs to be cut to length and dressed. I have a Dewalt low-speed 14" saw with a carbide blade for mild steel, does a great job so far. I put an abrasive blade for stainless on it, but it is very slow and takes a lot of pressure. Any insight from anyone that does this?
    Last edited by wygant; 01-15-2016, 07:51 PM.

Have you tried the carbide blade on the stainless? If it's not turning too fast it may work pretty well. Abrasive blades are always slow and take a lot of pressure because you're only making dust, not chips. Abrasive blades always make a huge amount of heat too, and end up melting and smearing the metal.

Comment

I have no experience with these blades from Makita, but they seem to work.
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuoYGvlu3fM

Comment

Sounds like a lathe job to me.

Sarge

Comment

In the piping biz we used SS hangers and rod on occasion. We just cut it with a portable band saw.

Might be an excuse to buy a band saw vise...
          paul
          ARS W9PCS

Esto Vigilans

Remember, just because you can doesn't mean you should...
          but you may have to

Comment

Yeah, they have a listed life span of 290 cuts, probably less in 1/2" rod....for over a hundred bucks, I need something more durable.

Comment

400 cuts
              1/2 " ss
              angle grinder

Comment

Hi,

Honestly if I was in your shoes, I would go to HF and buy their portable band saw. Toss factory blade and replace with a bi-metal blade and saw away. It's even on sale right now.

The speed in cycle time alone will pay for it. And it's cheap enough to write off against the job and toss if you so desire.

Dalee
                If you think you understand what is going on, you haven't been paying attention.

Comment

Cold Saw,