Loosening stuck screws ,a common mistake

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loosening stuck screws ,a common mistake

I have been fixing old stuf for 68 years. When taking things apart that have multiple screws, I noticed that the last screws were allways the hardest . This is because all of the stress from warpage and gasket swelling and corrosion buildup is on the final screws.SOO,NOW when I loosen a screw ,I snug it up right away. After I have done this to all of the screws, it is safe to completly remove them one at a time.I see you tube videos of mechanics installing heads on engines,first tourqueing the bolts to 30 foot pounds then 50 then final,so that they get a nice even clamping and don't warp the heads.Yet these same guys will just remove the headbolts with a highspeed impact with no thought of the stress that they are imposing on the final screws. I hope this helps someone from screwing things up.Edwin Dirnbeck

If for example, all but one head bolt were removed...what kind of stress is on the final bolt?...what force is the head exerting on that specific spot?

I don't think gasket swelling would play any part unless the gasket chose to swell greatly in that one spot as you neared completion of the bolt removal

I don't doubt your new technique works, it just seems your reasoning might be off.

John

Comment

The reasoning may be off (or not) but I too use the method he described and have for years even to loosening head bolts in sequence, on the heads I break them individually then snug them back down until all have been broken loose then remove them. Maybe it don't help but for sure it's very good insurance and little extra trouble for a huge return if it does indeed prevent any warpage -even once!

Comment

I don't do that routinely, but when the last one is stuck I will tighten the others to get it loose! 50 years of experience says it works, but doesn't say why.

Mike

Comment