Making Springs at home (VIDEO)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Springs at home (VIDEO)

Short video about winding your own springs at home. Had a bit of fun with this one.
    Let me know what you think.

Short video on winding your own springs at home on the lathe.

good video

Comment

Thanks for sharing, I picked up a number of good ideas. We'll explained and shot

Comment

As usual I enjoyed the video immensely, I think most of us have made a spring at some time or other and the ability to do so has gotten me out of a few holes!, or into a few holes
        Thank you
        Mark

Comment

I've been making my own springs at home now for a few years for gunsmithing jobs as well as a few custom springs for other tooling. A lot of what you give in there is great for the basics. And I did pick up some new ideas. So as an introduction I think it's great. It deals with a lot of the initial problems I had as a beginner. So all in all a superb job.

The link to the spring back calculator is especially welcomed. I'd not found that one up to now.

I've since found that there's a lot more stuff though. I like your tensioning tool but I found that running the wire through a series of fixed groove points so it's bent this way and that both provides better tensioning and at the same time seems to work the wire so it lays on smoother and builds up a bit more spring. I got this idea from watching You Tube videos of commercial spring making machines.

I also switched from pure tension to a tool which does not pull against the the forming arbor. For smaller sizes and thicker wires the tension needed will bend the arbor. Been there, done that. With the tool I came up that is shown below the tension on the wire is kept locked between the tool and the arbor so the arbor isn't seeing any large bending forces.