How do AXA tool holders fail ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do AXA tool holders fail ?

There was a couple of comments in a different thread (Shop Made Tools) about using aluminum versus steel for AXA QCTP holders. As a follow up, I'd like to hear people's experiences with failures of AXA tool holders. I am particularly interested in structural and material failures - shear, bending, bell mouthing, etc. While we may learn something from use-failures ('I forgot to tighten the set screws') that isn't the direction I am headed on this thread.

Thanks
    Dan

I don't know. I have been using them for about 45 years now, and haven't had one fail yet. Other than they don't repeat exactly as well as I would like, they just keep on plugging. Never tried one of Aluminum, don't think I want to. I even made a small one of steel in my shop one Sunday when I needed an extra, that was fifteen years now.

Sarge

Comment

I used them on a 12 x 40 lathe for 18 years and never had a problem. Made several out of mild steel too.

Comment

I've bought the cheap AXA blocks from CDCO, opened them up to take a 3/4" tools and have never broke one.
        jack

Comment

AXA usually fail in their responsibilities as a parent.
          "the ocean is the ultimate solution"

Comment

Originally posted by platypus2020 View Post
            I've bought the cheap AXA blocks from CDCO, opened them up to take a 3/4" tools and have never broke one.
            +1 on the CDCO holders for 10 bucks each. I've been using them for years and about the only thing I can find to complain about is the quality of some of the clamp screws. Toss them and replace with quality hardware for maybe another buck. The things will last forever. Just a quick on-line look shows AXA #1 from Phase 2 going for $55, and from Dorian for $70 (or if you're really clueless, from Graingers for $90). Seriously? For a chunk of steel with a dovetail and 5 threaded holes? How's this thing going to break?