Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• spindle bearing adjustment SB 10" heavy

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie dumbass and need your help to get by lathe back in operation. I tried to adjust the spindle bearings to reduce some slop (.015). I removed the bearing cap and removes some shims . The spindle would not turn when the cap screws were snugged down, so I added some shims. In the process, the bearing spreader came out of its groove. I have a cam -lock spindle so I do not know how to remove the chuck base to allow access to slide the spreader back in the slot in the bearing. After adding shims or various sizes, the spindle will not turn unless the bearing cap screws are extremely loose, which I assume is due to the fact that the spreader is not installed properly. When I re-assemble without the spreader, the spindle turns OK. How do I get the spreader inserted?
    Not sure if the cam-lock base can be removed or not. If so, I should be able to slide the spreader in. I did a search online and someone said the cam-lock mount is machined as part of the spindle. However, it does have a few screws that look like they might have something to do with mounting it. Do not want to proceed unless I can be sure I am doing the right thing. I have made enough mistakes on this project already. The good news is the bearings and spreader do not appear to be damaged, at least to my untrained eye.
    Thanks for your help.
    Joe S

Well, I don't want to insult you, but that bearing spreader only comes out of its groove when a ham-fisted gorilla works on the machine. They are normally pretty tight, and the dovetail angle is such that that don't just fall out, they have to be pried out. This generally screws up the upper edge of the bearing. If you then re-assembled it with the expander on top of the bearings, and tightened down the cap, then you've really buggered up the bearing.