Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best Bottom For Homemade Tools on Surface Plate?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Bottom For Homemade Tools on Surface Plate?

I recently bought a granite surface plate and have been working on some projects related to it, in particular a digital height gauge made from a damaged digital caliper and a surface gauge/squareness gauge/indicator stand multi-use thing.

Here's my two units I've designed in CAD, the height gauge is 3"x3"x1" base and the other one is 3"x4"x1"

My issue right now is, I'm using A36 hot roll steel to make these as my machines are small and I have no experience working with tool steel, I also don't have anything more than a propane torch for heating equipment.

My question is, what would be a good way to handle the bottoms to make them slide nicely on the surface plate? My ideas right now are to mill a clearance and leave a 1/2" strip on each side of the bottom, which would then be sanded and polished flat. I'm worried over time that the soft steel will become marred and start to harm the surface plate.

Case hardening the bases seems out of my reach as I don't have an oven or the torch required to heat treat them properly. Also I'm concerned they may distort or twist and become so out of shape that flattening it would remove all the hardened surface in the process.

Another idea is to buy some O1 tool steel bar stock, either 1/8" x 1/2" or very thin 1/16-1/32" x 1/2" and attach it to the bottom of the bases after quench hardening it. It would be done either by small countersunk screws or by loctite adhesive for the thin stuff. Then it would be polished smooth and flat. This would serve as a wear surface for the base, but possibly could make grit or damage to the base even worse for the surface plate?

The tool steel pad approach seems like it could be a good backup if the plain soft bottom idea failed to hold up over time.