Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drill Press for Automotive Use - Radial arm or standard

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum and I am in the market for a drill press. I have used my uncles newer Craftsman occasionally for small projects, but I was not impressed and I also just want my own.

Drill Press Use: I will be using this to mainly drill out/thread steel brake rotor lug holes and center hub holes, brake caliper mounting holes and inlet holes, steel wheel hubs for pcd variations, aluminum wheel lug holes and center bore openings, and also for notching tube for bumpers and other misc fabrication.

The drill press I am looking at is an older Rockwell/Delta 32" Radial Arm Tabletop Press. I figured the radial arm is good for getting into the center of a wheel. I'd like any advice as to what I should be looking for. I know most of you will say get a mill or lathe. I do not have the funds to do so or else I would. I'm self taught here and I want to learn as much as possible, as I am fascinated with machining and building things. My current budget is $300 and under. Is this a good press to do what I want to do??

Thanks for any help/advice you post!!

The Rockwell radial arm drill press would be a pretty good deal for $300 if in good condition. That is likely the best you're going to do. I say grab it before it gets away. Get a decent mill as soon as your situation allows.

Comment

I think especially if you do a lot of head work, a radial arm would be much better suited for the job. Much bigger table area would be just one benefit.

Comment

Looking at pictures of the Rockwell radial drill models I see there are two styles. There's an older one with a larger table and cast arm that moves in a dovetail to extend. Then there's a model with tubular arm. Which one are you looking at?