LF help selecting steel for special bolt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LF help selecting steel for special bolt

Hi folks. New to the list, and new to machining in general. Finding this site chock full of great info.

I recently purchased a used 10x18 Busy Bee B2227L chinese lathe and there are a couple of special bolts on it that are used to fasten the compound slide together that are both stripped.

Photo here: https://imgur.com/a/1x0SS

It is an M6x1x25 bolt with a large diameter round head, having two flat sides to keep it from turning when installed.

I checked and the lead time for purchasing new ones is minimum 12 weeks and they want $6 for each one. I neither want to wait that long nor spend that amount on them so I thought I'd just make a couple on the lathe (I have temporarily held the CS together with some regular bolts). I initially thought I could start with an M6 bolt, but the head on a standard bolt is not big enough. I'm an uber novice at this kind of thing, though, so I don't know what kind of steel I should use to make one from scratch. I was thinking that regular mild steel would not be strong enough, so then I started thinking about using drill rod. I really don't know what to use, though, so I was wondering if you guys could suggest something. I have access to a local Metal Supermarkets for supplies, but that's about it.

Thanks in advance.

The tensile strength of most steels is close to the same. Mild steel will be the same as drill rod. It'll be fine.

Comment

Originally posted by Forestgnome View Post
      The tensile strength of most steels is close to the same. Mild steel will be the same as drill rod. It'll be fine.
      I agree with Forest. Most stress on the CS is vertical downward. Could you use a 1/4-28 instead of metric? Might be easier for you to find and modify to fit?

Dan L