Miter Saw Fence

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miter Saw Fence

I have been using this 10” Craftsman miter saw for almost 15 years with no problems but this time when cutting an aluminum angle the angle slipped and broke the fence behind. The fence looks like its paper thin at the crack.

I was thinking to replace the fence with two pieces of 2”x4” (the 4” flat on the saw surface).

Any better ideas?

I guess you mean 2" x 4" wood. The fence will be 2" high, or 4" high?

Could you find a length of aluminum extruded angle, 2x2 or 4x4?

Ian
    All of the gear, no idea...

Comment

Have you checked with Sears Parts Direct? They probably have the fence in stock.

Comment

Not sure why you would want to use 2x4's. Why not just screw a piece of 3/4" hardwood firmly to both sides of the existing fence with countersunk screws (3-4 per side), and let the saw cut it in half. Better would be something like 1/2" maple, and make it longer than the stock fence, if that works for you.

Comment

Originally posted by Joel View Post
          Not sure why you would want to use 2x4's. Why not just screw a piece of 3/4" hardwood firmly to both sides of the existing fence with countersunk screws (3-4 per side), and let the saw cut it in half. Better would be something like 1/2" maple, and make it longer than the stock fence, if that works for you.
          Better yet, get some 1/2 or 3/4" melamine and screw that to the fence. That stuff is usually pretty flat and has a good slippery hard wearing surface that will help your lumber glide through the saw.

JL..................

Comment

Dense lamination plywood is an excellent choice, which is what most of my fences are made of (all topped with Formica). The good plywood is very stable, which is desirable when the fence must be thinner, like on a fixed blade saw where excessive depth would reduce capacity.