DSG compound slide angle indicator.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DSG compound slide angle indicator.

Can anyone tell me why the angle indicator on the compound slide on my dean smith and grace lathe reads 45 degrees when the slide is parallel to the spindle and zero when it is at 45 degrees?

Photo, please.
    Paul A.

Make it fit.
    You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment

I seem to remember the zero on the scale was 45degrees to the right of perpendicular to the main axis but the compound Mark was also at 45, if you see what I mean, so setting at 45 is 45
      It's been a while
      Mark

Comment

USELESS SON INLAW
        I have been a lathe driver for the last 65 years. Every single one especially Monarch and Hardinge seem to have a compound that is designed by the useless soninlaw. Edwin Dirnbeck

Comment

You sure there isn't some other marks too? Some of the lathes I've run had multiple index marks at the 0, 45, and 90 positions. The idea being, I assumed, to pick the one that was easiest to use depending on the work being done. Could it be that the others are just a little worn and somewhat obscured?

My current lathe came with only the one index mark. It sure didn't take me long to add the two 90's for convenience. Have not had a need to mark the 45's yet. But the first time I find that it would be handy they'll appear quick enough.

Comment

My SB lathe has two index marks, and the smaller lathe with no index marks or protractor whatsoever.

Comment

Originally posted by BCRider View Post
              You sure there isn't some other marks too? Some of the lathes I've run had multiple index marks at the 0, 45, and 90 positions. The idea being, I assumed, to pick the one that was easiest to use depending on the work being done. Could it be that the others are just a little worn and somewhat obscured?