What mill to buy to match my 12" lathe

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What mill to buy to match my 12" lathe

Hello all- Nice info on this forum. I am a marine engineer that does hydraulics, mechanical, welding and fitting, diesel, and electrical. I have never touched a lathe or other metal shop tools.

I am just now retiring and in the process of trying to put together a small machine shop for my property. I am thinking about being able to do some small machine work to accompany my other skills that will supplement my retirement.

With that in mind I just bought out a small home shop that was closing down. I got an Atlas/Craftsman commercial 12" lathe, metal band saw, drill press, 400 rpm mag drill with a 1" chuck, a Dipstick 160 mig/tig/stick machine with high freq attachment and a stand up belt/disk sander. That was 2500 delivered to my container.

How about that for leap of faith. Sight unseen off Craig's List. They dropped it at my dad's house a few hours back and he said it all looked in good nick. Crazy hu?

Now I want a mill that will fit with the tools that I already have. I have a small budget and am looking for ideas? I see some mills off Ebay or Craig's List and the Central Macine at Harbor Freight seems to get good reviews for 1000 bucks. I am looking for a mill that will accompany the 12" lathe that I already have.

Also I see on Harbor Freight there is a 9" lathe that is getting good reviews for about 800. Is that just crazy imported junk or it that worth having? I ask because I have a container that I am shipping back to New Zealand so I want to get as much equipment that I can use at one time.

Also are there some other tools that I should be loading up on? I am able to buy used in the states now and am sending a 40ft container to our home in New Zealand. In NZ I can also buy similar tools, as well as new China imports. There is just something about the older, heavy tools that seems "right."