How to test Treadmill Motor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to test Treadmill Motor

Was wanting advice on testing this tread mill motor,I do not have the key thing to hold yellow button down which I assume is a magnetic.I was curious if the wires could be cut and with the correct color connected if the motor would run at full speed.The motor looks stout and has a 22mm keyed shaft.Any ideas what devices would need for a rotary speed control switch and forward reversing switch.Electrical is a weak point for me so any advice would be appreciated.It has digital controls.
    Last edited by Tundra Twin Track; 03-22-2017, 10:12 PM.

A drill press, A lathe , A band saw , A milling machine. These are some of the machines that you might want to control speed and direction. On my South Bend drill press I have a DC motor and I can drill and tap forward and reverse plus I don't do very many belt changes. I like DC.

Dave

Comment

I'm no electronics expert, but I have done a couple of Tm builds. I don't recognize the control board - did the original panel have a knob/ slider or did it have buttons?

Easiest way to power it up is with an mc60 or kbic125 (110v in Canada?) Board and a 5 or 10k rheostat. They're pretty simple to wire up and you can write a switch for forward and reverse. You could probably cobble something together with some diodes and actually, but I've no idea about that.

If you have any Q's feel free to ask on here or by pm. Treadmill motors are the bomb, I love them to bits on my machines.

Comment

That appears to be a PWM controller as opposed to the SCR bridge versions. PWM offers a superior smoother control.
        I have info on a few boards but that one does not look familiar, you would need to know the command type whether with simple pot or other means of control.
        As mentioned, as a last resort a KB drive would be an option.
        Max.

Comment