Need Face Milling Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Face Milling Advice

I have inbound from an Ebay supplier, a face mill that takes 5 TPG 432 inserts. I have turned semi-pro*, but I have little experience with face milling. My neighbor makes molds for the plastics industry, and I prep the metal blocks he gets from his supplier.

Diameter 5"
    Inserts: TPG 432 - five of them
    Steel to be cut: S7 tool steel, 4" wide, annealed.
    Mill: Bridgeport J knee mill. 1 HP.

What RPM, what feed rate, and what depth of cut are advisable?

The assignment is to reduce the thickness of this block from approx. 2.045" to 1.900" -0.000 +0.010". Can this be done in one pass?

* semi-pro. I get paid for my work, but it is not my primary source of income.

What SFM do your inserts suggest? SFM is coating dependent. Are they set positive rake? If you don't know insert details, start at 400 sfm (about 300 rpm) and adjust your feed and DOC for nice blue chips. You need a minimum chip load per insert for effective cutting and you might not get it...

Why?

5 inch is pretty aggressive on a 1hp BP for steel (or most other materials). Take it easy... you don't have to load all inserts - at that diameter and HP I'd start with three so you can keep your chip load up. With one it's basically a fly cutter.

Can you do it in one pass? depends... I wouldn't with those inserts and diameter. Start at 30 thou and see how it performs.
    Last edited by lakeside53; 03-26-2017, 09:56 PM.

Comment