Incorrect dial on my Acra RF45?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incorrect dial on my Acra RF45?

Hello to all. Not only am I new to this forum,but I'm new to machining.I just purchased a used Acra RF45 the other day and I have a crazy question. All of the dials except for the quill feed read in inches. The Quill in mm.The crazy thing is that it is graduated in .02mm per hash mark, but the dial reads 270 graduations per revolution! I would have expected a round number like 300mm. After putting an indicator on it, it reads approximately .106" per revolution! None of my math works out for this. Has anyone else experienced something like this? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Bob
    Last edited by Bobbiggs; 03-29-2017, 03:07 PM.

Welcome to the board. You will find it friendly here.

I left a PM for you on that other board, but in case you missed it, here it is below.

The imported mills have had a long time problem with the accuracy of the quill downfeed scale. It seems that they have been designed as a metric mechanism. For the English models they have taken various half measures to give approximate readings. The most common one was to use 25mm as the basis of one inch, instead of the proper 25.4mm. This produced an error of about 16 thousandths over that distance. I have a Grizzly RF45 type and it actually has an accurate inch scale, but it reads in increments of 0.002". I added a digital caliper for a quill readout and do not use the scale anymore.

From your numbers it appears that the manufacturers may have actually, finally made an English version of this downfeed and then they had to do a bad job of converting it to metric. It is puzzling why they can't get it straight. Adding a known good scale, like I did, is the best option and it is not expensive. You can get those calipers for $10 or even less.

Paul A.
    Paul A.
    SE Texas

And if you look REAL close at an analog signal,
    You will find that it has discrete steps.