Cam Programs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cam Programs

Prompted by IBEW with his problems with Blobcad.

How may of you run CNC machines and CAM programs at home ?
    Can be lathe or mill, doesn't matter and what are they.

John S.

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

John:

You might laugh, but I normally use graph paper to layout my cuts and holes my machine works with. I am a artist and sketch what I want to end up with, offsets and all.

I still need a toolpath 3d program. I finally got them to put me on the "do not call list" at Bobcad. It got ridiculous. I got to talking dirty to the people that called. I don't like doing it, get no thrill but.. "what are you wearing today" gets them off the phone pretty quick.

I am still shopping, sorry I lost the Free Linux 3d program that looked so great.. I had to reformat that hard drive cause of a virus.

David

Comment

Solidworks, BobCAD, and AutoCAD here. The combination works for me...
      Stay Safe

Comment

David,
        Why 3D?
        Just asking as 90% of general everyday parts are 2 1/2D or multiples of parts added together.
        3D is an immense learing curve, the simplier they try to make the software the more choices it makes for you that you don't want.
        The more you try to tie it down the steeper the curve.

------------------
        John S.
        Nottingham, England

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

David.

Who's laughing?
          I still have two drafting boards in my basement where I do layouts on paper and sketch ideas before I commit them to metal.

Comment

I still have autocad 14 for most the actual design work. Most the jobs I do are multiple holes, some slotting. I rarely design 3d objests.. I did lust after solidworks. Can't afford it for homeshop, but lust the same.

Not overworked the mill in quite a while.