Staggered Tooth Side Milling Cutters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Staggered Tooth Side Milling Cutters

How well do side milling cutters such as the ones in the link below work?
    https://www.toolmex.com/CatSearch/24...taggered-teeth

I'm considering getting one for cutting a bunch of slots, but I've never used one before. What's the surface finish like with these? Can a mill/drill handle a cutter like this?

Benjamin

I use them on my little denbeigh horizontal, I find them better than straight gash teeth, quieter too, it's just personal, I don't have any kind of scientific reason to prefer them, they just work better for me, mine are 1" bore, where a bouts are you located?
    Mark

Comment

Just like any cutter. The difference is they rarely bog in a cut, because they can cut their way out of trouble. May not go the way you wanted, though, if something gets cocked.

Keep eye on ball.
      Hashim Khan

Comment

Those would be a good size for a mill drill. I would not want to go too much larger or you risk spinning the collet or arbor in the spindle from the torque they can generate.

My old mill drill had a couple of notches in the end of the spindle to engage keys on the face mill that came with the machine. If you're making or buying an arbor to hold cutters of this sort it would be worth using a design that would similarly engage the notches if you have them on your own mill/drill.

Seems like it was not uncommon with the Morse Taper spindles but not so much with the R-8 spindles. But if you have the option I'd go with it. Spinning the arbor would really ruin your day... and the spindle taper.

Comment

Mark: I'm in southern British Columbia, in the Greater Vancouver area.

How is the surface finish with these? Can you get a nice clean looking surface?

Comment

Originally posted by benjaminh View Post
            How is the surface finish with these? Can you get a nice clean looking surface?