Another new guy ( long introduction)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another new guy ( long introduction)

New member from S. Oregon. I've been visiting here on occasion, for a few years. I've been in steel/metal fabrication for 44 yrs. but never a chip maker unless you count 6 months running a radial arm drill (20 dia column X 6 ft arm) First 24 yrs I worked in the shop starting as a helper. Became a certified welder, 2 & 3G on plate, 3G on pipe, unlimited dia. & thickness. Along the way, besides running the usual shop machinery such as shears and ironworkers, I spent 3 yrs running a Marvel 81APC programmable saw, I was the first person in our company to be trained to run CNC press brakes from 220 tons up to 750 ton X 16 ft Pacific w/3 axis control. I also spent 4 yrs running a CNC Whitney 647D Panelmaster, a combination punch and plasma machine. The last 20 yrs I've been in Supervision, Production coordination determining and entering BOM's and routings and finally, Sales/Estimating. My garage is pretty full with 2 welders, a plasma, Oxy/acy torch, 20 ton press with a brake attachment, 5/8" drill press, a small lathe (9 X 19) small metal saw, small table saw, 2 gas powered generators, pedestal grinder, compressor, my Harley and my Barracuda but I think I've made room to fit a small mini mill to play with during my up coming retirement. I'll probably be asking some pretty basic questions over the next several months so please bear with me.

Joe

Welcome aboard, I too was the FNG a couple months back..
    Last edited by 754; 06-15-2017, 01:17 AM.

Comment

Welcome. this is a great place to learn. Lots of knowledge here.

Comment

Welcome from the Salem area. I've been the FNG for years.

lg
        no neat sig line

Comment

X2 on what chip's said,lot's of knowledge here

Comment

Originally posted by chip's View Post
            Welcome. this is a great place to learn. Lots of knowledge here.