3 phase convertor options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 phase convertor options

Hey guys, I am getting a lathe with a 5HP 220V 3 phase 2 speed 3KW motor. It comes with a huge transformer. The shop says it was to convert their 440V 3 phase down to 220V. Now I only have 220V single phase. I am completely new to 3 phase power. So I got a couple questions:

1. What type of phase converter do you guys recommend?
    2. Will I still need to use the transformer?

I have already talked to a rotary converter company, they say that I would need a 15HP unit, due to the 2 speed motor 3KW motor. Does anybody think they are trying to upsell me?

On a side note: They said I shouldn't need the transformer. A rotary convertor will only add the third leg and does not increase voltage. Now I know I've seen plenty of stuff on YouTube and other places where guys are running pretty big stuff in their small shops off of a rotary converter. None mentioned using a transformer. I was under the impression that most 3 phase machines run off 440V 3 phase power. Am I incorrect, and is 220V more common? Also if I was to pick up something in the future that requires 440V, what is involved there.

Thanks in advance
    Rich J

What your location, even county? Please put it in your profile.

Assuming USA...

You can use a Rotary Converter or a Phase Perfect type. 15hp Rotary will be fine (dual speed motors are generally pigs); 10hp Phase Perfect (smallest they make) also. VFD (I'm sure someone will mention it) is a possibility but not as simple to implement if you are electrically challenged.

3 phase is available in a number of voltages and configurations. You do not need the transformer. 240 single phase into the converter, 240 delta three phase out. Don't worry if you motor says "220" - it will just draw slightly lower current at rated output if you deliver 240 to the input terminals.

Comment