Advice Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice Needed

What parameters should be considered when selecting and end mill, in terms of choosing either a two or four flute. Obviously center cutting types are required for plunge cuts, but otherwise, I'm ignorant.

Anyone want to help a dummy out with this?

John B

John B

As you know, I am no expert.
    If your doing aluminum or plastic, then you need something that will get the chips out of the way in a hurry, and not clog. Two flutes tend to do this better. The amount of twist that the flutes take also has some bearing on it. The catalogs that sell cutting tools are a great place to start. They give you the basic's of what to use.
    David from jax
    A serious accident is one that money can't fix.

Comment

There are so many different style of end mills to choose from...Each end mill is designed for different applications..You really need a good inventory of different styles of cutters..

If money is a problem, then try 3 flute end mills..I use these quite often and they work fantastic..

Aluminum should use 2 flute end mills..but a high-helix endmill is best....

The old rule of thumb was: 2 flute for aluminum and plastic, 4 flute for steel..this is a general rule of thumb, but it is really not ideal...try using a 4 flute end mill doing a slot in mild steel..chances are that the chips will clog the flutes up, so a 2 flute would be better in this situation...mild steel can be stringy...If you have the $$$ then buy 2 and 4 flutes of every endmill that you purchase..And then you will gain a lot of knowledge through experience...

brent

Comment