Setting up lathe for line boring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up lathe for line boring?

My smaller Jet 10x24 lathe has a t-slotted cross slide (my modification) which I thought would be useful for milling, but then I got a decent size mill. A few times I've wished I was set up for line boring and I think my larger Jet 12x48 lathe would be best suited for that. I have no experience line boring and have been considering whether I should slot this cross slide too or just drill and tap it for the attachment of holding jigs that I would make as needed. For general home/hobby use I guess t-slotting would be more flexible? Input welcome, thanks.

I guess it somewhat depends on what you're line boring. But given that the item being lined bored has to pass fully by the cutter on the shaft you'd have only around 12" available on the Jet and up to around 24" ability on the bigger machine. But then the lack of support on long overhung items would come into play. Consider that the lathe uses gravity primarily to hold the carriage secure to the bed. That and the cutting force being applied down through the "footprint" of the carriage to the bed. Shift that cutting force very far out past this footprint and things could get ugly in a hurry. So realistically I'd suggest that even your 12x48 machine would only be good for maybe 12 to 16" of length. Then there's the issue of support for the item being bored. If all the support is in the middle and provided by the cross slide there may be enough overhang to either side that it allows the force of the cutter to shift the part.