Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sizing a Quick Change Tool Post for a Grizzly G9249

I am looking to put a QCTP on my lathe.

I am on the wall as to piston or wedge. This still one of the reasons I have not pull the trigger. I like piston for the ease of recreating parts as they wear.

The next is size... there is 100, 200, 250, 300 and AXA, BXA, CXA???

The link below is what I have:
    http://www.grizzly.com/products/g9249/parts

http://www.picturehosting.verhey.org/qctp/QCTP_pg1.jpg
    http://www.picturehosting.verhey.org/qctp/QCTP_pg2.jpg

What it will be used for... I am a home machinist. I don't do production, but I spend a lot of time in the shop.

Played with the thought of make one but can not find a detail drawing and not knowing the size I need.

The other big question I have is where do I get the measurement of the dovetail for each size? Are they standard? One series size works with all of them??
    Last edited by outlawspeeder; 11-20-2017, 11:42 AM.

no comment on size, athough you can do some top of compound to center line measuring that'll help - the different sizes work with different distances, rather than size of swing. You're probably on the line between AXA and BXA.

go for wedge, doesn't cost much more and it's a bit more repeatable/ secure than piston.

for each size (AXA, 250-100 etc) the dovetail dimensions are available and should be consistent. So you should be able to use holders from one make/ source on the tool post from another.

Comment

I think you will find that you want the AXA size. Some years back I tripped over what seemed like a good price on a piston style AXB size that was listed for being good for my 12x36. It works but it's actually a hair too big. Here is a link to download the Aloris CATALOG PAGE. On page 4 is what you want.