Trying to decide between a craftex CT039 or B2227L

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to decide between a craftex CT039 or B2227L

Hello, I'm new to any of this. A friend asked if I could make some tapered pegs with my wood lathe and we got to talking about how metal ones would be better. I mentioned that I used a metal lathe in high school and did a quick search And a couple good sites popped up. I thought everything made is really cool and I've wanted a metal lathe since.

I have the opportunity to purchase a lathe. The seller has either a CT039 or a B2227L and can’t decide which one to go with. I’m leaning toward the b2227l because of the bigger bore (not much difference) and the all metal gears vs the ct039 which has one plastic gear. The ct039 has less use on it though, comes with more tooling (which I might be able to take if I buy the b2227l and it all fits), and a stand. The ct039 is also a lot lighter so it will make it a lot easier to transport into my basement if I decide to do any work during the winter.

Has anyone used either lathe? Which one would you recommend.

Thanks.

I have the B2227L. I can't speak of the CT039 but I took a quick look at the manual.

I like my B2227L. The lathe is fairly rigid. The sardine metal stands that any of these lathes come with aren't worth it at all and require significant rework to get them rigid enough to use. There are a few things that are annoying - mostly dealing with the tailstock and bed layout. Depending on what you are doing you will find that the tailstock's short stroke and the large carriage is frustrating in some situations. Extended reach supporting centers do get around the problem. I purchased my B2227L when it was sub $1000 - it is much more now. Busy Bee has jacked the prices a fair bit. Sub $1000 is it an exceptionally good lathe. For over the $2000 they are charging now I might look at other options - think bigger here.