OT: Who came up with the term MAKER.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: Who came up with the term MAKER.

Warning: This is a rant so feel free to hit the go back button.

When did the term MAKER come into popular use. You are seen to be someone who can fabricate something IE: a machinist, welder, woodworker, general metal basher etc. (professional or amateur) and now you are a MAKER.

Why.

Is it just people who don't know anything coming up with a term to explain what they don't know or understand or what. Too many people today can't comprehend the fact that you don't have to go to a store and buy stuff and that you can just build it (better) yourself. As a welder by trade for over 30 years and a amateur machinist for longer I hate it, when showing off something I built and somebody says "Oh, your a maker". I build models by machining, soldering, beating metal, whatever. I am a Model Engineer and proud of it, a term that has been around for over 130 years and now I'm suppose to be a MAKER. It is an insult of the first order.

Don't get me wrong, I think it is great that people are getting out and building thing again, no matter what it is. People who don't work with their hand are missing out in life so it is good that maybe there is a movement to reverse the tread of sitting on our arses and watching the tube in every spare moment but the term MAKER.......................................

I think we should research who came up with it, patient zero if you will and kill the bastard.

OK, the rant is over.
    The shortest distance between two points is a circle of infinite diameter.

Bluewater Model Engineering Society at https://sites.google.com/site/bluewatermes/

There are many things in life that just need to be ignored.
    Len

Comment

first time iv really heard of the term being used like that...

Comment

Kill all these folks... you may get the right person...

https://curiositycommons.wordpress.c...f-makerspaces/

Comment