Milling Machine Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Milling Machine Help

I admit that I am self taught and that means learning the hard way by making mistakes.

Why can't I get smooth surfaces with my milling machine? It is a Grizzly clone of an Ron Fu. Here are some photos.

5/8" 4 flute sharp end mill in a 5/8" R8 collet. Minimum quill extension, Quill lock tightened, 650 spindle rpm, depth of cut .0025", horizontal feed is slow, power feed, 2 hp 3 phase motor

I can detect no vertical movement in the quill when it is locked measuring with a dial indicator and trying to lift it with a wood lever.
    Another photo

What causes the circles?

Any help appreciated.
    Peter
    Grantham, New Hampshire

Your RPM is good. Your DOC is fine.

Looking at the circles, I see different sized circles. Did you do multiple passes with different sized end mills?

Swirls are normal when using the end of the endmill to cut metal. I see you have more pronounced rings at some spots. That's more common when you pause while hand feeding. Did you use lube, and did you clear the chips as you cut?

The good news is that it looks like your mill is trammed well.

Dan
    At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and left over parts.

Comment

Originally posted by danlb View Post
      Your RPM is good. Your DOC is fine.

Looking at the circles, I see different sized circles. Did you do multiple passes with different sized end mills?

Same end mill for all cuts and same DOC. Quill stayed locked. No lube and not clearing chips.

Is the debris causing the problem? The mill is trammed dead on both X & Y axis. Power feed all passes.

Swirls are normal when using the end of the endmill to cut metal. I see you have more pronounced rings at some spots. That's more common when you pause while hand feeding. Did you use lube, and did you clear the chips as you cut?

The good news is that it looks like your mill is trammed well.

Dan