really basic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• really basic

I'm brand new at the whole lathe thing, so on the recomendations of a coulpe of people from this post I've gotten some books and done some reading. The formula for rpm is 4 x cutting speed, divided by diameter. So I figure 1" shaft should be spinning at about 168 rpm with a cutting speed of 60 thou per revolution....am I close?????
    Shorty

I almost forgot....What is a safe amount to take of per cut? I've been taking off about 30-40 thousanths but it sure seems slow to me. No "curly peels" either. Gotta have "curly peels" right???
    Dave

Comment

No answer to that question, without knowing what kind of lathe and material.

A 16" Monarch will bite a lot more off than a 6" Atlas!

Grind of the cutter also affects it, as a "peeling" cutter will take off more per rev than a straight-top like a typical threading cutter.

Comment

The lathe is an 18" Stanley and the material is shaft for hydraulic cylinders.
        I'm using a right hand turning tool. I should correct myself. 90 rpm, ..03-.04 per cut, and 70 fpm feed is actually what I'm using for settings. Also, I think I may have been using a left hand roughing tool to do a right handed operation.
        So many variables but what the heck, the lathe just sits there and calls to me(heh, heh, heh) so I've got to try, right??
        Shorty

Comment

Stanley 18" lathe. The stock is (I assume) carbon steel for hydraulic shafts.
          I have to correct myself. 90 rpm, .30-.40 per cut and 70 fpm feed. The tool will be a left hand turning tool as I have to cut away from a corner, however I think I've been using a right hand facing tool up to this point. Right direction but the wrong tool.This is the first time I've actually run a lathe but it's just sitting there waithing for an ambitious welder like me to take advantage of it.
          Shorty

Comment