Looking to learn more about metal working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to learn more about metal working

Hey Guys, I've recently taken an interest In metal work. I'm a carpenter by trade but have never spent much time doing any metal work, and it sure wasn't anything precise.

Where does one go about learning about the craft and what is affordable to have for The average guy. I'm currently hardtailing a motorcycle frame with my brother in law and this has sparked my interest. This weekend I will add to my arsenault by buying a tube notcher and I might buy a horizontal band saw. Home depot offers a reasonably priced WEN for around $250 I believe.

I would love a lathe but they seem so expensive. I don't really need a lathe, but I'm sure If I had one I'd use it Alot more than I can imagine. I played with the idea of those "mini lathes" but they seem so small that one day I would need to make something.its to small for and kick myself in the ass for buying a dinky mini lathe.

I only have basic metal tools, angle grinder, pneumatic grinder, old delta drill press, and I bought myself a Lincoln mig180. So I guess I'm also asking in what relativity would a home fabricator/machinist want to acquire his tools.

I mainly want to get myself something to cut with properly (not angle grinder) and it seems the horizontal bandsaw is what is most commonly used to cut metal? And a tube notcher is needed but that's fairly inexpensive.

Anyways, any input and or videos or books of tutorials and metal working basic tools/saws would be great. I don't know any fabricators so I'm in this alone and really want to learn the art but it seems so overwhelming and expensive. I can frame up a house, but metal working has got me overwhelmed, totally different world of building.

Sent from my SM-G950W using Tapatalk