Moving two milling machines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving two milling machines

I'll likely be moving my old Bridgeport mill out (2200lbs) and my new ACER (2400lbs) in soon, and have some questions.

I've moved this Bridgeport twice so I have some experience, but will be using drop deck trailers this time, which I've never used.

Question #1. Do drop deck trailers go all the way to the ground? Is it just the thickness of the deck that the pallet jack must roll up on?

Question #2. How to get the new mill off it's pallet, crib the mill where the pallet "isn't", then dismantle the pallet? I have a small gantry but the capacity is too close to the mills weight.

1) yes, if you mean the JLG or Airtow variety....deck is about 1.5" and there is about an 18 ramp from zero to the 1.5

2) that question is why I hate machines on pallets, as in the common slatted wood variety. If you don't have a crane or forklift it is dangerous. I've done it once, basically blocked the machine as best I could and started cutting away the wood. No, actually twice, a 10ee once arrived on a pallet. The other was a tippy T&CG and the pallet was light. It was dicey - I'd have felt a lot better with the gantry above even if it was only to take part of the load and as a safety. If you have a choice, better to set the machine on two hardwood pieces than a pallet. A few bucks for a wrecker to lift it up while you pull the pallet might be worth it.
    Last edited by Mcgyver; 03-28-2018, 01:57 PM.
    in Toronto Ontario - where are you?

Comment

Here's a link to the Airtow website. About 2/3 of the way down on the page there's a large picture of one of their trailers. As Mcgyver described the only the thickness of the ramp to overcome. I have used other brands as well. All those I've used are similar. About the only difference is the length of the ramp. Some ramps have been as short as 6".

https://www.airtow.com/airtow-drop-d...SAAEgLGCfD_BwE