Woodworker needs machinists advice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woodworker needs machinists advice!

I'm a woodworker who's putting together a Powermatic table saw. You machinists out there would appreciate the casting and grinding of the table top! Anyway, it's a precision machine, and I'm attempting to set it up as best I can. I bought a Starrett two foot ruler to help with aligning the cast iron extension wings properly. I did the best I could, using shims under the wings to get it lined up as well as I could. There are still some slight discrepancies, and I'm debating about how anal I should get on this. The problem with the two foot Starrett is that it's not long enough to go from one extension wing to another--I can only line up each wing from the center table, not the entire length.

To compound this, I'm in the process of mounting the wooden extension table, which ostensibly needs to be lined up perfectly as well. Using the two foot Starrett becomes a bit problematic since the extension table itself is four feet.

Another issue that's arisen while setting things up is that I began experimenting with turning the ruler upside down. Much to my surprise, I found that there were gaps in different places! That was really frustrating! How can you be precise when you question your measuring device?

That brings me to the question. My wish is to have the 48 inch Starrett straight edge, but for price of $186 for one without any measurements on it, it's a hard price to swallow for a woodworker. Are there any other brands out there that make an acceptable four foot straight edge? My four foot straight edge is a $10 jobbie--good for measuring, but no good for this purpose.

Oh, and as far as the gaps I'm finding, they're miniscule in woodworking terms: the smallest feeler gage I have is .008, and it's less than that (on the cast iron table itself anyway. Moving onto the wooden extension table is another matter).