O/T: Any Chemists? Pure capsaicin dulution

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• O/T: Any Chemists? Pure capsaicin dulution

Yea, I am a hobby chemist from 12 years old. Chemistry set and the whole thing.

So fast forward I am also a food lover (cooking is chem).

I like spicy food, not to the point where you cant taste the food.

I bought a pound of capsaicin from Australia. Food grade.

Problem is it is inconsolable [sic] with water, most cooking mediums.

I have been running a test with six solvents. Water being one of them. A blind test of my own.

I made a blind log of my test. I wanted real numbers. I am odd like that, me and numbers.

To remove 1mg of the stuff to each of six glass tubes (5ml). Mix them and wait.

The problem with pure capsicum is it wont touch water. It is oil loving but not oil based.

Ironically it dissolves fine in alcohol, they say. I dont know, yet. I am still running my test.

My test is 6 vials and some time (three weeks soak). The solvents are all edible and sometimes healthy.

I have already peeked at my experiment. There is a winner. Most of the vials still had large chunks of (methyl-n-vanillyl nonenamide) {Wiki} in the solution.

There was one that was completely clear.

I know. I am a geek chemist. Then electricity. Then mechanics. JR

Oh, solly. No question. Just a story.
    My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

Seeing how it dissolves in alcohol would be test #1 for me.

Comment

Soluble in alcohol or fats/oils but not water, correct - this is why it's wise for Vindaloo and Fahl lovers (including me) to have good strong beer available at the Indian restaurants! Lots of it!

I buy ready-made chilli oil, it's normally infused into olive oil, which is quite healthy and tasty in its own right

Dave H. (the other one)
      Rules are for the obedience of fools, and the guidance of wise men.