Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sheet Metal Machine 3 in One.... Shear, Brake and Roll ...... Recommendation Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sheet Metal Machine 3 in One.... Shear, Brake and Roll ...... Recommendation Help

I've been putting off getting one of these for several years mainly because most of them that I've seen are HF quality and I would like to get something better.
    I've read several posts in the past about poor HF quality ones that require extensive fine tuning, modifications and or break after the first couple uses.
    I want a good quality shear, brake and roll............. NOT SHAKE, RATTLE AND ROLL !!
    It looks like there are a lot more choices out there now than there was a few years ago, and that is what makes it hard to choose.

24" in width would be about right for my needs.

Most of the ones I've looked at will bend up to 20 ga. steel, that's pretty thin material and I realize that spec is bending the full width of the machines capacity. Maybe they will bend heavier ga. material in smaller widths, not sure where the line is drawn.

Are they all press brakes or are there makes and models that have a folding brake?? A finger brake type would be really nice, but haven't seen one of those.

Show me what you guys have and your best choice, make model etc.

JL................
    Last edited by JoeLee; 05-11-2018, 09:46 AM.

If you hope to avoid "fine tuning", do not buy any bending brake. Save your money. All will need adjustments, nature of the beast.

Maybe if you just do not care, you can ignore adjusting, but to get good results you need to set it up right, and even change for different materials and thickness.

I have used the HF version (not mine). and it works. Needs adjustments, of course.

As far as I know, all are guillotine benders, not "box and pan" types. Those you can get, but the shear function goes with the guillotine type, and not the "finger folders".