Surface grinding coolant choices

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface grinding coolant choices

I have had a Harig 612 grinder now for about 3 years and with the help of experts on this and other forums, and the utube community I have learned a lot. Up until now I have been grinding dry and had good success and nice finishes using the proper grinding wheels and taking my time and not heating up the part. Now I want to make some tool room stones like the ones Robin Renzetti has made and I need to reconfigure my grinder for flood coolant. I don't see any problems making a flood coolant system but I would like some advice as to what type of coolant is best. I am a retired home hobbyist and I probably don't grind more that 4-5 times a month. I would like to use a water soluble type that is stable for the light use. Most of the ones I've seen are a milky white. I am pretty fussy about keeping my shop and machine clean so I hope this coolant isn't difficult to cleanup?
    Thanks for any advice

skipd1

Hi,

The biggest killer of coolants of any kind is lack of use. If you don't use the coolant fairly frequently, it will go bad. Anaerobic bacteria is the culprit. Soluble oils are maybe the worst for sump life if not used a lot. Best is synthetic water based. All sump life can be extended some by aerating the sump when not in use.

For infrequent home use, avoid using the built in sump if possible. Generally they are often too large for home use, (you really don't need a 15+ gallon tank at home). And they are nearly impossible to properly clean when they do eventually go rancid. Much better is to simply use a cheap plastic 5 gallon bucket with a relatively inexpensive pump to move the coolant. Get a lid, drill a hole for pump and return lines, add a quarter turn valve, and you are good to go. It's cheap, it's easy. and simple to maintain.