Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lathe Tool suggestions for an old Newbie.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lathe Tool suggestions for an old Newbie.

I am an old newbie to machining. Have a 10x22 lathe, with AXA QCTP with maximum half inch shank tool holders. I have managed to ground a 3/8 in general purpose tool that seems to face and cut longitudinally.. not well but it works and leaves a fair finish. Have also ground 60 degree and 45 degree tools same shank size, seem to cut OK. I'm looking to see if a couple indexable carbide insert holders might prove useful as I gain a toe hold in this hobby - it is a hobby for me nothing more and I'm moving slowly. I am wondering about these holders, with such a bewildering variety. If I buy a couple of holders, would anyone have experience with, and a suggestion for a "general late turning work" holder type, and which inserts are most useful or available, for just general machining work. Hoping soon to be able to contribute to the site, but currently trying to get just the basics. Thanks in advance for any thoughts, experiences or suggestions. Gary
    S E Michigan

I have a 9" S.B. lathe and soon after I bought it I also bought a "Diamond Tool Holder". I have never been sorry that I did because it works great. The nice thing about them (if you don't already know) is it's a tangential tool holder so you only sharpen the HSS tool on the end and it comes with a special holder that makes sharpening it at the correct angle dead easy.

My experience with carbide is limited to the cheap brazed carbide ones with the exception of a carbide insert Sandvik brand cut off tool which was an order of magnitude better than the lantern post mounted cutoff blade that came with the lathe. It's mounted on a dedicated monoblock that replaces the compound when in use.

Comment

Originally posted by OaklandGB View Post