Yet another wiring question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another wiring question...

I intend to wire the 2nd mill with the same wiring setup I used for the old mill.

I have 12/4 dropping down from the disconnect into a 12" x 12" box.
    L1 and L2 with ground to the mill main power switch and on to the VFD.
    In the 12" box I tap off L2 through a 15 amp breaker to power a 110 outlet to run light, DRO and table power feed.
    All grounds connected and neutral goes back to main panel.

This setup worked fine for years on the old mill.

Was I just lucky or is this wiring alright?
    Len

I am not an electrician, but it sounds valid to me from a functional point of view.

Is the 15 amp circuit tied to the input of the disconnect or the output?

Dan
    At the end of the project, there is a profound difference between spare parts and left over parts.

Comment

Branches off the output.

Also, since I've got 12 wire run to everything including the 110 outlets, would I even need the 15 amp breaker?
      It looks so official sitting on it's DIN rail though.
      Len

Comment

Originally posted by QSIMDO View Post
        I intend to wire the 2nd mill with the same wiring setup I used for the old mill.

I have 12/4 dropping down from the disconnect into a 12" x 12" box.
        L1 and L2 with ground to the mill main power switch and on to the VFD.
        In the 12" box I tap off L2 through a 15 amp breaker to power a 110 outlet to run light, DRO and table power feed.
        All grounds connected and neutral goes back to main panel.

This setup worked fine for years on the old mill.

Was I just lucky or is this wiring alright?