3 HP Frequency Drive Choice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 HP Frequency Drive Choice

So, I'm ready to put power to my Enco mill project (another thread somewhere on here). I'm looking to run a 3 HP motor. I've seen that some of you have been successfully using Teco drives, and I've found this:

https://www.amazon.com/Teco-Variable.../dp/B01IFEOVSE

I have also found this Lapond drive. I am not familiar at all with this outfit, but for a hellufalot less, I can up the HP rating for a little bit of a cushion.

https://www.amazon.com/LAPOND-Invert...3N8MR2E6W&th=1

Both of these things are from across the pond. Since I'm not made of money, I'd like to lean toward the Lapond drive. For the same bucks as the Teco I could throw in a remote keypad and braking resistor. The reviews have been predominately positive on both units, but I am not a drive expert by any means. Although an electrician by trade, I gravitated to medium to high voltage maintenance and installation.

Opinions for (reliable) power to my mill motor.

I bought a 3hp single phase input TECO drive, the previous model, and it has worked flawlessly for me for several years now. I don't have a single bad thing to say about it.

metalmagpie

Comment

Originally posted by garagemark View Post
      I have also found this Lapond drive. I am not familiar at all with this outfit, but for a hellufalot less, I can up the HP rating for a little bit of a cushion.
      Hopefully there is much more useful manuals than those posted in the link, one of the main criteria to look at is Manuf. support.
      Max.

Comment

The Lapond may be a version of the "Huanyang" inverter.

Those have a less than great reputation, and for the smallish difference in cost, you would be better off to go with the TECO.

Keep eye on ball.
        Hashim Khan

It's just a box of rain, I don't know who put it there.

Comment