R8 or 40 International taper?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R8 or 40 International taper?

Has anyone any views on which is best for a workshop doing mainly hobby stuff like building IC engines but occasionally doing farm jobs? I have decided to update my ancient vertical mill with MT3 spindle nose and have more or less narrowed the possibilities down to a very tidy 1999 Rambo (?) variable speed turret mill with DRO, power to x axis and knee, but with 3hp motor and R8 spindle, OR Excell Pinnacle turret mill, slightly less pristine but with 2 axis DRO, power to x, 5hp motor and 40 Int spindle, slightly dearer by £300 delivered. Both are around the £4000 mark delivered. Do I go for extremely tidy but with R8, or slightly less tidy but £300 more and with 40 Int? Any advice gratefully accepted! John.

My vote is for R8. I have been running full size CNC mills with R8 since 2001. The R8 tooling is cheap and plentiful, with lots of variety. I use mine every day as a business and I don't feel restricted in terms of metal removal rates. My mills are Bridgeport type heads with 3 hp motor.

The 5 hp 40 taper will allow higher metal removal rates, but that is usually only a concern when running long run production on larger parts. MRR is a function of hp. When you go up in hp, you have to have everything else beefier to match.

Comment

I'd go with the 40 taper! It's the most commony used size in industry and is common over here. It has better capacity when removing a lot of metal in a manual machine. R8 might be ok for endmills up to 20mm, but a decent size shell or face mill works much better in a 40 taper machine.
      Location- Rugby, Warwickshire. UK

Comment

TBH I would go with 40 taper if you have a choice and a higher HP machine. New holders cost more than R8. But you will find a LOT of used 40 tooling for cheep and a lot less home shop competition. Check the used holders prices in your area.

Comment