Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backplate (pre-drilled and threaded)

For starters, I’m a novice,

I want to buy a Bison 4-jaw universal independent plain back chuck for my EMCO Maximat Mentor 10 x 30. I haven’t been able to find (at least on-line like New England Brass & Tool or cataloges) a backplate that is already threaded (1 1/2" x 8) and (notice the AND) the mounting holes also drilled in the backplate. Any reason why they’re not?

BTW, I understand you need to face the backkplate while on the lathe and how the register must fit correctly. Man, what a super steep learning curve everything seems to be.

-SD:

My guess is that different chucks have different mounting hole locations.
    What I would suggest is that once you have the back plate machined for the chuck that you mark your holes with a transfer punch and then drill them on a drill press. Give a little clearance around the holes to make sure there will be no binding with the bolts.

[This message has been edited by Treven Baker (edited 09-08-2004).]

Comment

I think Bison may sell them, but probably a lot of places don't carry them. You might ask NE Brass & Tool to check for you, or look up Bison on the Internet and go through their online catalog. Unfortunately, it's NOT obvious to find if you search for "Bison" as the website is under another name "(Toolmax or something?) and it's not immediatley obvious that it's Bison. But it is there, if you search enough. If you can find the Bison number (assuming they do in fact sell what you're looking for) you could pass along the part number to NE B&T or whoever and say, "I want one of these."

----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings