New Member Hello

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member Hello

Hello, my name is Andy Stewart and I'm a newbie here. I come to metal working from the bicycle field. For the last 41 years I have been making frames for mostly myself/wife, after a couple of short pro stints I decided I wanted to keep frame building as a hobby. Ove the years My skills and tooling have improved/grown. After a long period away from my home town I returned and decided to get a big toy, a vertical mill. I found a well used Samson via Craig's List and with the help of a few friends picked it up and placed it in the back of my garage. It sat for a couple of years and only recently have I begun to play with it. It's been so long since my tool and die vocational evening class, as well as not continuing after the first year, that I'm having to relearn/discover methods and manors. My current projects for the mill have been bicycle frame tubing mitering (using fine tooth hole saws) and small tool making for my building.

The mill is a Samson. It's a pint sized Bridgeport copy, about 1000lbs. 36" table and currently with a 110V motor (I think it's about 1hp at most). All manual with a fair amount of backlash or hand crank free play.

I am looking for information about it. I would love to stumble across a manual but I am realistic. I suspect it's an Asian made that could have any of a number of house brands depending on the importer/distribution. The metric hand dial set screws suggest non US made. The motor, and likely other bits, is not OEM. Note the voltage plaque above the name.

It has a knurled, round, "knob" on the left side of the headstock. When I got the mill I could turn this know with only fingers and it would disconnect the fine travel hand dial quill movement from the coarse drill press like fast movement. I only use the fine feed hand dial and now the knob is so tight it won't loosen with low effort channel lock attempts. Any help about this is appreciated.