Lathe Leveling Requirements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lathe Leveling Requirements

I've a newly acquired King TD-45AA lathe.

The previous owner probably never cleaned one bit of scarf off the sucker.

It is a mess, and it truly did break in my new Craftsman shop vac?

Lathe is on a solid concrete floor. It is not perfectly level either fore/aft or left/right.

Tried using the "BUBBLE" app on my android, but what do I calibrate THAT against?

Using a conventional Craftsman 24" level, I am a wee bit off left/right, and about 2x more, fore/aft.

1) I'd like to know how to absolutely measure how level the machine is?

I can likely afford any reasonably priced tool.

2) what are reasonable level requirements?

I have no lathe experience, and no clue.

I'll be taking some community college classes this fall to get my head screwed on right.

I'm not a mechanical dummy. Just don't know much about lathes and mills.

tanks.

mac

The lathe really does not have to be level to work right. Level is just the easiest way to make sure the bed isn't twisted. You really should have a level sensitive to .0005" per foot. Check for level (front to back) close to the headstock and again at the end of the bed. Shim the feet until both ends are level. If your lathe has only 4 feet there is not much to worry about about level in the longitudinal direction. Squatting to adjust shims or feet, then standing to check the level and doing this over and over again is going to be rough on the legs. Get a helper so one person can make the adjustments while the other reads the level.

Comment

if you download an app that can log the output of your phones accelerator, you can take an average of 10,000+ datapoints (upload the data to your computer) and get better than the 16 bits the accelerometer outputs.. maybe. worth a try, it seemed to work on my phone.