Small lathe recommendation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small lathe recommendation

Upon my retirement as a Land Surveyor I have taken up a "hobby" of repair and restoration of antique surveying equipment dealing mostly with items that are 150 - 250 years old and primarily brass. My primary tool that I purchased a few years ago for this is a Smithy Granite combination machine which I am generally very happy with. However, one short coming is the limited number of thread pitches that I can cut with it and the fact that switching back and forth to metric isn't exactly the easiest. So I have been thinking about buying a small lathe that will be used almost exclusively for cutting threads. The lathe that I have found that seems to have the most options is a Grizzly G4000. I would appreciate your comments on this lathe for the stated purpose or your help in identifying another lathe that has as many or more thread pitch options as the G4000. Thank you.

Make sure that the lathe will cut the threads you need for surveying equipment. Are there fine or special threads that may not be standard or common? You may need to be able to set up a special gear train to get extra fine or special non standard threads. This may be easier on a "plain", not a "quick change" lathe.

Comment

We don't know where you are, but if in a bigger market, I'd be looking for a use Emco (not enco) or Myford with change gears, I believe they are much better quality machines and with changes gears you can cut pretty much any pitch. wading into the used market of course means you have to pay attention to condition, but you usually get many times the bang for the buck.
      Last edited by Mcgyver; 08-28-2019, 03:40 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by Dave Ingram View Post
        I would appreciate your comments on this lathe for the stated purpose or your help in identifying another lathe that has as many or more thread pitch options as the G4000. Thank you.