Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tapping

Hey,
    What am I doing wrong? I keep breaking off the tap 2-56 in brass using tap Magic in a piece of brass that is 3/8 inch thick. I am new to all of this. I backed out and cleared threads I think a suitable amount. I was almost through...Any suggestions would be appreciated. I love the group! Thanks Fred

Fred,
    That seems to be a deep hole for a 2x56 tap. Are you using a gun type type? This type of tap pushes the chips ahead of the tap. I have tapped a lot of 2x56 holes but never 3/8" deep. Are you using good quality taps? I use the wax type tap sticks for lube and have not broken a tap in a long time. (knock on wood) One thing to make sure of is that you are tapping dead straight, any side motion will snap the tap almost instantly.

------------------
    Paul in NE Ohio
    Paul in NE Ohio

Comment

I think you may be work hardening the piece . try a new dead sharp drill , lots of coolant, gentle pecking . And does the tap lube say it is for brass? perhaps lard or alcohol might work better.unless time - motion eficiency is a major deal I like to drill undersize and then to size with stock sensitive to work hardening from heat of drilling

Comment

Try tapping in the mill or drill press to keep the tap aligned. You might want to stop and back out about half way to clear chips and every other turn after that. Thats what I do when I have to tap a blind hole with a small tap.

Comment

As said in other post make sure that you are going in straight. On very small taps after a few complete turns I will back the tap out all the way to clear the chips. Haven't broken a tap in a long time. Takes more time but is faster than trying to remove a broken tap.

Joe

Comment

Bras can be tricky.
            If I dont need super strenght I drill the hole larger, which is what I would do in your case.
            Here's the rule for strenght.

Lenght = 3 times the diameter.