Craftsman rotary table

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Craftsman rotary table

I’m total novice when it comes to machining and have never used a rotary table. I have a Craftsman 8â€‌ rotary table with the XY axis handles too. It’s extremely clean and looks like it wasn’t used. The rotary table and XY axis are not silky smooth, like I think they should be. I haven’t adjusted the gibs either. I want to take this puppy apart, clean it up as necessary and grease everything to see if it makes a difference. Is there anything complicated about re-assembling it or something I should be aware of before doing so? BTW, what kind of grease should I use?

Thanks,
    -SD:

James
    Use way lube, not grease. Grease attracts grit and chips and then they grind into everything. Inside the the rotary table if the unit is enclosed use R&O lube if it has a bronze Worm and/or Worm Gear otherwise use the way lube.

[This message has been edited by Thrud (edited 11-30-2004).]

Comment

I have seen use of Way Lube mentioned several times on this forum. Is there a special brand name or manufacture for "way lube" how do I find such a product? Help us non knowers!!!

[This message has been edited by lugnut (edited 11-30-2004).]

I would rather have tools that I never use, than not have a tool I need.

Comment

Hello. One brand of way oil is Mobil Vactra. It comes in different viscosities. Most small lathes use Vactra # 2. Some larger machines use #4. As far as I know, the smallest size container it comes in is a 5 gallon pail, but if there's a machine shop close to you, you might be able to buy a smaller quantity from them.

[This message has been edited by pete913 (edited 11-30-2004).]
        Pete

Comment

Smokedaddy
          I have a two page instruction sheet with
          an exploded view and part list for the Craftsman 8â€‌ rotary table if you need it.Not a lot of info but may be handy to have.
          I can email it to you or any one else who might need it.