Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some input / Milwaukee horizontal mill

Hello,

I'm new to machining ( but been into various mechanical hobbies for 25+ years )I purchased my 1st lathe ( an Atlas/Craftsman 12x36) about a year ago and been having a blast making small items I need and learning new skills.

I've been wanting a mill and have been doing a ton of reading and looking. I wasn't planning on buying anything for a while because I don't know enough. The BP style vertical mill's look like what I probably want.

A horizontal mill (Milwaukee) ended on ebay a while ago with no bids. This mill is located only about 10 miles from me and I'm going to take a look at it next week.

Ok.. on to my questions.

I think I understand a lot about the functions and possible things I can do with a vertical mill. Can these same things be done with a horizontal ?

Can some of you give me some input on this piece of equipment that I've linked below.

thanks
    Mark

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWA:IT

If you need to do long keys a horz. mill is the way to go, you can key a 20' shaft all they way easy.

thay are nice for gears and splines too.

Comment

For a home shop, I'd wait and get a vertical mill. Horizontals are good for some things, but are no way as versatile as a vertical. You might just want to do some rotary table work or drill a precision hole pattern someday, both durn near impossible on a horizontal mill.
      Pete

Comment

get the mill and use it until you get a verticle. you can still do lots of work but pete has a good point...jim
        ...jim

Comment

Mark,

that looks like a nice machine. the 220 single phase conversion doesn't look too bad (although i noticed they didn't include a close-up of it). also, i'd put the weight closer to the 2000# end (maybe a little bit more). i picked up an old Brown & Sharpe horizontal mill, and the weight was almost 4000#. it is a double over-arm though, not a single.