Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bought my first metal lathe - refurb or part out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bought my first metal lathe - refurb or part out?

Hello, all. I recently purchased an 11" x 24" Logan 955 from the local school district. It is a cabinet model with 1/2 hp 3ph underdrive and quick change gears. Tooling is minimal, with a 3-jaw, drill chuck, and standard tool post. All 810 lbs. of it is in my basement, although in pieces. I bought the operators instructions and parts list from Scott Logan and have been reading the posts on the Yahoo Logan discussion group. I'm an accomplished woodworker, but I'm taking the plunge into metalworking. I need some advice.

My main questions is: If I buy a new (used) bed for this lathe, what are the issues with mounting the old headstock, tailstock, and carraige? Will they align properly?

What follows is me asking some rambling questions, but hey, this newfound hobby looks pretty cool and I've got issues that need addressed.