Oops (crash)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oops (crash)

Yes the title says it all. I was squaring up some 6061 blocks of aluminum today at work (i'm a 1st year apprentice). I was told by a couple of people that squaring up blocks with an angle plate is much easier and usually gets your blocks more square than a vice. Since i can never get a block 100% square in a vice, no matter what pattern i try (wether milling one face and flipping it to the back jaw, with or wihtout round stock, doing paralell faces first then flipping it... at best my sqaurness is always out a few thou although measurements with a vernier are always great), i decided to give the angle plate method a shot. So it was all going fine and i squared up some 3x3x11 and some 3x6x11 blocks but not the ends yet. I took light cuts, just cleaning up the faces.

So i did my first 3x6 ends no problem. But the second one i did.. OPPS, as i touched off lightly, it cocked back in the angle plate, made a nice bang, stalled the cutter and put the head out a nice bit. Nothing broke though (that i know of) or flew out so that's good i guess. One guy started yelling saying 'thats why we don't square up with angle plates on mills, just grinders', and 'he's never seen it before', and another told me the problem was that the angle plate wasn't tall enough to support my block, and the C (or are they called F clamps? the ones that look like an F) clamps i was using weren't strong enough (they were wood ones that i was given to use, they didn't have a bar through the handle for leverage, but he uses them when he squares his blocks). I'm tending to agree with the second guy becuase i don't see why you can't use an angle plate to square up a block on a mill. But mind you too this was an aluminum block not a steel block... can you still square up a steel block like this too? Or should the whole angle plate on a mill thing be avoided all together and just use a vice?