Need to glue HSS to Aluminum 6061

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need to glue HSS to Aluminum 6061

I need to glue a HSS shim to an aluminum block of 6061 grade. I have tried Epoxy with FG and also the Last Glue (supposed to glue it all). I cannot add much more thickness to it either. I also don't need any strengh as far as pull or tear - just enough for the shim to stay in place.

Thanks for the help!!
    Roberto

Have you tried Cyanoacrylate?

HTRN

------------------
    This Old Shed
    EGO partum , proinde EGO sum

Comment

Try polyurithane glue. Why was epoxy not adequate?

Comment

A good contact cement would hold it in place if you don't need any strength.

Joe

Comment

Right up my alley since I work in the adhesives industry.

I have had sucess with JB weld epoxy. Also cyanoacrylate (super glue) as suggested will work. A good PSA (pressure sensitive adhesive) will also work well provided it's applied right. Any chance you could heatseal it under some pressure? I have a fantastic heatseal adhesive I could give you, you'd have to heat it to about 400F then let it cool with a weight on it. JB weld would be your easiest option but you'll want about 0.001" thickness minimum for a good bond. Also clean the metal very well with a brush followed by MEK or similar.

Comment

I would be highly tempted to use a contact cement, one that doesn't get brittle, and probably one that is solvent based.
            I seldom do anything within the scope of logical reason and calculated cost/benefit, etc- I'm following my passion-

Comment

Silver solder.
              I agree, super glue should work fine. Remember to clean the heck outta it. You will need to clamp it very tight to get a minimum joint thickness and strenth. I would let it sit for several hours if time is not an issue.
              JRouche

[This message has been edited by JRouche (edited 12-07-2004).]
              My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group